top of page

How to Begin Writing in 1 Simple Step

An easy method to help writers put pen to paper and let their creative juices flow is to think about a scenario that happened only yesterday.

You may have noticed that my opening phrase to the short story Sparrow - A Human's Perspective, was 'Yesterday I..' The first task in this very helpful learning book called "Write Short Stories" by Zoe Fairbairns asks you to write about one of the things that happened to you the previous day. Luckily for me something quite extraordinary landed on my lap, or shall I say more at my feet, however, using this method to get your creative juices flowing is very beneficial. Not only did I write a short story, I have the inspiration to write three more. I was also inspired to create this whole blog - along with the concept behind my blog (which is writing one scenario from various perspectives).

In most day to day lives an issue occurs, whether it's social, intellectual, practical or however mundane, something will happen and it'll be down to you to overcome it, and if you didn't what was stopping you? However trivial this may sound these are what stories essentially are: Setting, problem and execution. Even though it may seem like you're keeping a diary, simply jotting this down will help you derive a story and if not it will definitely get you into the habit of writing.

I don't suppose I had to begin my story with 'Yesterday I' yet it certainly helps. As Zoe Fairbairns mentions, it is a lot easier to write in the first person, so a good tip to just get you writing, those finger tips typing, would be to start out with writing a passage in the first person, especially if it's based on truth. From there you can take your creative license and edit to which ever format you desire. Write first edit later.

For all those serious at getting into writing a strongly assure you pick up this book. It's full of tips and is all round inspiring, as you may have gathered it is also practical - full of tasks to aid you in generating ideas and most importantly it get's you writing!

If you found this tip useful (or if you've found another method more practical) then by all means comment below. Share if you think other's will appreciate!

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
Related Posts
bottom of page